Risks of Alcohol-Related Car Accidents in Boca Raton among Teens Skyrocket through Prom

Prom season is coming up and teens are gearing up for the big event. The Sun Sentinel is urging prom goers to plan ahead to make sure their prom season is safe and injury free. Planning ahead can help to keep your teen out of a potentially fatal car accident in Boca Raton.

One of the most common problems associated with prom season are the risks associated with drinking and driving. According to the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation and the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco, both parents and teens can be held criminally liable if they’re busted with booze. What’s more frightening than that are the risks and the recent year’s statistics for fatal alcohol-related car accidents during this time of the year.

Our Boca Raton car accident lawyers understand that children can wind up with 60 days in jail and a $500 fine if they’re busted in possession of alcohol. Parents and other adults face the same consequences for providing alcohol to minors. During this prom season, law enforcement officials throughout the area will be targeting vendors and those who provide alcohol to minors as well as underage buyers. According to the spokeswoman of the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation, enforcement efforts will be going strong from April to May. During this time last year, enforcement officers were able to bust nearly 150 minors in possession of alcohol and another 125 people for selling alcoholic beverages to these young prom goers.

Parents and guardians are urged to get the 4-1-1 and know who their teens are going to prom with, including where they’ll be before and after and what time they’re supposed to be home. Talk with other parents about these plans to make sure that everyone is on the same page.

Before they head out to the big dance, be sure to discuss the dangers of drinking and driving with them. Law in the state of Florida has a zero tolerance policy for drivers who are under the age of 21. This means that any of these young drivers who are stopped by a law enforcement officer and return a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher will automatically have their license suspended for a minimum of 6 months. With a limit of .02, teens can’t even have one drink and drive. Officers will be on the hunt.

Make sure you discuss a curfew with your teen. Know who will be riding with them or who will be driving them. Don’t allow their curfew to be too late as the later it gets the higher their risks are for an accident. The more passengers in a vehicle the higher the risks for an accident, too!

In 2008, there were nearly 800 fatal car accidents in the state of Florida where at least one of the drivers involved was legally drunk. In these fatal accidents, the lives of nearly 900 people were lost. In addition, there were another 200 people who were killed in the state in car accidents where a driver was not legally drunk but was in fact under the influence of alcohol.